Only the patron who creates a record for a person in Family Tree can delete the record. If another patron makes changes to the record of the person, the creator of the record cannot delete it. If another user makes changes and you attempt to delete the person, you see Delete Person Unavailable in Family Tree (362110).The Help Center article entitled, "Deleting a person from Family Tree" also states:
Notes:The articles entitled, "Delete Person Unavailable in Family Tree (362110)" suggest these alternatives:
If you create a duplicate record for a deceased person by mistake, merge the two records rather than delete the person. See Merging duplicate records in Family Tree (53952).
- If you delete a person, you also delete the relationships to other individuals in Family Tree.
- If you delete a person by mistake, you can restore that person. See Restoring a deleted person in Family Tree (57078).
- It is also important to note that patrons cannot merge records of living individuals. They must delete a duplicate living record.
- You cannot add to, change, or modify a deleted record.
Instead of deleting a person, consider the following alternatives.I think this is a rather clear and simple solution.
If this person never existed, contact FamilySearch Support to have the data removed."
- Edit incorrect data.
- Merge duplicate records
- Delete relationships.